Python Forum

Full Version: Can I make this program on Python?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hey,

I'm learning Python, and i want to know if is possible to make a program, using Python, that interacts with other programs, like SolidEdge for example.

Just to give some context, I'm a Mechanical Engineer and in my company we take to much time doing some repetitive tasks. One of them is transforming 3d parts in 2d with DXF format.
This is time consuming because sometimes we have to do this process to 40/50/100 parts and we end up spending one day in this.

My question is, is it possible to do a program with Python that receives all 3d parts I want and then, the program open SolidEdge and do the process to transform the parts into DXF format one by one?

Is it hard for a beginner like me?

Thank you all,
From Portugal
What is the file extension of those 3D parts?
Yes, you can do it. SolidEdge has no native support for Python, it uses .NET. You can use IronPython in .NET to solve your task.
Maybe doing your task direct in C# is easier.

Here is one source: https://github.com/Rlee13/IronPythonExamplesForSE

One more question you should ask: Can you do the conversion outside of SolidEdge.
I don't know if I can do the conversion outside of SolidEdge. I know what the program should do, but i don't know the path i need to make, neither the easiest one.

I barely know how to program in Python, for now I don't want to try C#.
I'm trying to use this to learn how to program, but i'm afraid this is too much.

Any help where should I start? I'm only familiar with excel macros, where I recorded the task and then use it, sometimes I tweaked the code but nothing more than that.
I was thinking in using the same approach with SolidEdge. Programing a script to make the same steps for all parts.
Quote:One of them is transforming 3d parts in 2d with DXF format.