Python Forum

Full Version: python modules?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hey all,

I'm really new to python(I used C/C++ in the past and strongly prefer it). I'm having trouble using "modules". What I got was that they're supposed to be like functions but overly simplified. Python is supposed to be REALLY simple but I feel like I'm going crazy over all my errors being invisible. No bracket, semicolons, proper endings just everything all floating out in the ether.
num = float(input('Enter the cost of your meal: '))

def conver(num):

while num < 0 or num == 0:
     num = float(input('please enter a positive number: '))
    #rejects numbers 0 or below
    if num > .01 and num < 5.99:
     tip = (num / 100) * 10
    elif num > 6 and num < 12:
      tip = (num/100) * 15
    elif num > 12.01 and num < 17:
       tip = (num/100) * 20
    elif num > 17.01 and num < 25:
       tip = num/100 * 25
    else:
      tip = (num/100) * 30
    return tip
#calculates tip depending on input

def calculate(num, tip):

tax = (num / 100) * 10
    total = num + tip + tax

print("Food cost: $", round(num))
print("Tip: $",'{0:.1f}'.format(tip))
print("Tax: $",'{0:.1f}'.format(tax))
print("Total: $",'{0:.1f}'.format(total))
#Displays results back to user after calculations.
# The tax and total are set to one digit after the decimal, float values as shown.
#The example showed integer values for 'food' and 'tip' so they were rounded.

conver(num)
calculate(num, tip)
This is basically what I'm working on. It's a mess because I keep trying different thingsnames. The problem I'm having is:

1. tax = (num / 100) * 10
total = num + tip + tax
depending on indentation ONE of those variables disappears/ "Is not used in scope"