Python Forum

Full Version: installing wxPython
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
I'm new to this Python stuff, but am determined to develop an application and am interested in using wxPython. I am running openSUSE 4.3. There is no wheel for my version. Can anyone give me any help in installing this package on my system?

predirt
Which version of python are you running?
phoenix version of wx is what you want to be running, which requires python 3.x
try:
pip install wxpython
(Feb-22-2018, 06:46 AM)Larz60+ Wrote: [ -> ]Which version of python are you running?
phoenix version of wx is what you want to be running, which requires python 3.x
try:
pip install wxpython

Thanks for your response!

I have both 2.7 and 3.4 installed on my system. I intend to use 3.4 for this application.
I ran pip as you showed only to discover that I don't have GTK+-3 installed. So after I figure out how to get it on my system without screwing up anything else, I should be able to run pip again I suppose.

I've used openSUSE for years, but only as a email/web browsing/write a letter/create a disk label in gimp sort of user and never installed anything that didn't come from their repositories. Until now! So I'm pretty careful.

predirt
I prefer Linux, but have been on windows for the past few years.
I started with mint, and then went to openSUSE, I liked mint, but
not the restrictions on non open packages (at least when I used it).
OpenSUSE will be my choice as soon as I move back. I've got a really nice
inter Core I7 laptop which will be my Linux box, but I have to spend an
entire day cleaning up and saving anything worthwhile.

Once you have wx installed, download the tar source file. In that distro, there's
a demo directory. If you change to that directory and run the demo:
python demo.py
there is a demo page for I believe every widget in the entire package (at least I haven't