Python Forum

Full Version: AES Decryption too slow
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hi everybody

I’m still fairly new to python so please bear with me if I ask any daft questions.

I’m currently working on a crypto challenge to decode some message encoded with AES 256.

Within the challenge we know the first 24 bits of the password used for encryption. We also know that it’s only numeric.

I’ve written a script that tries decoding the message. Since I need to figure out the last 8 bits of code, I start with 00000000, add it to the end of the password, decrypt the message and write the result to a file. I then increment this figure by 1, and repeat the process. Eventually it will iterate every single possible combination and I will have the decoded output written to file.

The down side is that working it’s way through 100,000,000 attempts takes time. Included in the code is a counter so I can see the progress. I’ve had it running for many hours and not even hit the ten million mark.

The other problem isn’t that the output file size gets very large and causes the script to hang.

Anyone got any suggestions for a more efficient way of doing this?

Thanks!
If you only need to guess 1 byte that means you have 256 options (from 0x00 to 0xFF) and except if your teacher is cruel and is using the bible as plain text you shall be able to try all of them in seconds.

I think the problem is that you are iterating from 0 to 99999999... and that is 390000 times more effort.
Hi thanks for the reply.

Sorry for any confusion but with this being aes 256 the password is 32 bits in length. So we need to figure out the last 8 bits of the password which is why I’m iterating from 00000000 to 99999999.
(May-05-2018, 12:03 AM)Hairy_Ape Wrote: [ -> ]we need to figure out the last 8 bits of the password which is why I’m iterating from 00000000 to 99999999.