Editing or deleting threads/posts/accounts

Users with the edit permissions will be allowed to edit posts.

The act of changing your post is not meant to be done in response to people responding. It is only meant for a mess up such as a typo, forgotten code, etc.

A restriction is better for the flow of dialogue. Imagine people posting responses to your initial post. You then edit that post. The posts after it no longer makes sense. Imagine someone coming to this thread having the exact same problem, and not being able to understand what is going on because people are editing their posts to say something different that what was there initially.

As for deleting your thread completely; by posting on the forums and receiving help you agree to the terms of permitting us to retain that content for our database. If everyone deleted their thread after they received help, we would have no threads for future users to read and help them.

Second of all, a lot of students post questions and then delete all their posts to a single character to hide their questions after they get their answer. If you do this, your post will be reverted and your account will be locked.
  • You are (generally) free to modify the title to more explicitly explain your problem better. Please use a brief summary for the thread as a whole, even if the discussion changed to something different than originally intended.
  • If you need to modify a section of a post, please either make a new post, or append to the bottom of the post your corrected part. Please leave the rest of the post alone to not disrupt the flow of dialog. Most people who have already read a thread, do not check for edits, but only for new posts. You would be depriving yourself views by adding edits to your posts instead of making a new post.
  • Removal of the original post (OP) will get you a warning, permanently locked posts, or even banned. Please do not do it. If you feel you need to remove the OP or change it, please ask a moderator/admin before doing so.
  • All edits are logged. Every single edit can be compared and/or reverted. A moderator may feel the need to revert your post if you removed it or too much to disrupt the flow of dialog. If done intentionally, you will be banned.
  • Users are not allowed to delete posts. Requests to delete a post will be denied unless mods/admins find it justifiable. This will not be immediate as your request will be deliberated over.
  • Users are not allowed to delete threads. Requests to delete a thread will be denied unless mods/admins find it justifiable. This will not be immediate as your request will be deliberated over.
  • Requests to delete accounts will be denied unless mods/admins find it justifiable. This will not be immediate as your request will be deliberated over.
If you would like to request a post/thread/account be deleted then make a post on the Private Inquiries section. This will be private between you and team members. Please note that by creating an account here that you have agreed to the terms of the Registration Agreement which entitles the forum to deny any requests. You also may just abandon your account and not log back in if you wish to delete your account.