![]() |
SyntaxError: Missing parentheses in call to 'print' - Printable Version +- Python Forum (https://python-forum.io) +-- Forum: Python Coding (https://python-forum.io/forum-7.html) +--- Forum: General Coding Help (https://python-forum.io/forum-8.html) +--- Thread: SyntaxError: Missing parentheses in call to 'print' (/thread-10966.html) |
SyntaxError: Missing parentheses in call to 'print' - sofret - Jun-15-2018 Am new to python, a new concept which i love.... i started 3days back.... and am using a text book to teach myself.... i got to a section of the textbook and i saw a new concept which i love.but i entered the code the way it was entered in the text book.... but the program did not run...here is the code, and the result i was getting....... >>> x = input("x:") x:50 >>> y = input("y:") y:50 >>> print x*y SyntaxError: Missing parentheses in call to 'print'. Did you mean print(x*y)? RE: i need help - buran - Jun-15-2018 you are using python3 (good), but maybe your book is targeted at python2. If this is the case - change the book you are using. As to the particular error - in python2 print is a statement, while in python3 it is a function thus it requires parentheses. On the other hand python3 uses input , while python2 equivalent is raw_input , so I'm not 100% your book is for python2. If it is python2 book and teaches you to use input in python2, it's a poor textbook, definitely don't use it.
RE: i need help - volcano63 - Jun-15-2018 (Jun-15-2018, 01:13 PM)buran Wrote: On the other hand python3 uses In Python2, input exists too - but it evaluates the entered expression, that's what would have allowed OP to multiply without conversion.Python2 input would return number - if number is entered - due to expression evaluation. Unfortunately, it would allow to execute a valid Python command, if entered - the reason why it (input ) is considered dangerous, and its usage discouraged.raw_input in Python2 returns stringSo the book is definitely Python2 - and also correct, though uses discouraged practice. RE: i need help - buran - Jun-15-2018 I also realised that multiplies without conversion to int/float. Just didn't want to complicate things with input()/eval(input()) explanations. I didn't claim it's incorrect, just poor textbook for newbie |