Python Forum
Problems with Interrupts/ callback functions in Python for an Alarm Clock project - Printable Version

+- Python Forum (https://python-forum.io)
+-- Forum: Python Coding (https://python-forum.io/forum-7.html)
+--- Forum: General Coding Help (https://python-forum.io/forum-8.html)
+--- Thread: Problems with Interrupts/ callback functions in Python for an Alarm Clock project (/thread-1229.html)

Problems with Interrupts/ callback functions in Python for an Alarm Clock project - Henry1 - Dec-15-2016

I recently started programming with Python and now I want to build an appliance with the raspberry pi which is basically an alarm clock. I have a pi, a small OLED display and a rotary encoder which can be turned left/ right or pushed.
Here's the library for the rotary encoder: https://github.com/joan2937/pigpio/blob/master/EXAMPLES/Python/ROTARY_ENCODER/rotary_encoder.py
Since there was no support for pushing the rotary encoder, I added the following code to the library:

def _push(self, gpio, level, tick):
    if not self.pushed:
        self.callback("push")
        self.pushed = 1  # debounce 
which works fine.
But when it comes to building my actual appliance and integrating all the things (rotary encoder, oled display, ...) somehow I screw up. Every method in my code should handle one "page" of my appliance, e.g. the methods would be home_menu, alarm_menu, settings_menu, ... I have the following problem: I can't get the navigation through the menus right. After a push from the rotary encoder is detected, I want to display the content of the specific menu element at which the push was detected
Here's an excerpt from my code:

def main_menu_callback(self, cursor, lines = ('Weckzeit: --:--', 'Einstellungen', '01.01.1970')):
        y = 0
        # draw text elements of the main menu
        for line in lines:
            self.draw.text((0,y), line, font = self.sans15, fill=255)
            y += self.textsize_addition(line)[1] + 10