Python Forum
Getting error: Name error - Printable Version

+- Python Forum (https://python-forum.io)
+-- Forum: Python Coding (https://python-forum.io/forum-7.html)
+--- Forum: General Coding Help (https://python-forum.io/forum-8.html)
+--- Thread: Getting error: Name error (/thread-12685.html)

Pages: 1 2

Getting error: Name error - Placebo - Sep-07-2018

Hi^^

I am beginning to learn some coding with python and hence I am a total beginner.
I have not found in this community any beginner-section, so I really hope that this is the correct place to post
a noob question - I try my best to explain the issue as well as I can.

On Topic:

I am using Python-Version 3.7 (64-bit) on a Win10 OS.
Within the IDLE, I have opened a new file and typed it in this code (an exercise from a beginner book) :

if name == 'Alice':
    print('Hi Alice.')
elif age < 12:
        print('You are not Alice, kiddo.')
elif age > 2000:
            print('Unlike you, Alice is not an undead, immortal vampire.')
elif age > 100:
                print('You are not Alice, grannie.')
This was the output within the IDLE:

Output:
Python 3.7.0 (v3.7.0:1bf9cc5093, Jun 27 2018, 04:59:51) [MSC v.1914 64 bit (AMD64)] on win32 Type "copyright", "credits" or "license()" for more information. >>> = RESTART: C:/Users/kr-ga/AppData/Local/Programs/Python/Python37/vampire.py = Traceback (most recent call last): File "C:/Users/kr-ga/AppData/Local/Programs/Python/Python37/vampire.py", line 1, in <module> if name == 'Alice': NameError: name 'name' is not defined >>>
The isolated error-message was that one:

Error:
Traceback (most recent call last): File "C:/Users/kr-ga/AppData/Local/Programs/Python/Python37/vampire.py", line 1, in <module> if name == 'Alice': NameError: name 'name' is not defined >>>
Im grateful for any help how to fix that.

regards,
Placebo

RE: Getting error: Name error - buran - Sep-07-2018