Python Forum
non-coder asking for coder input on domain dropcatching - Printable Version

+- Python Forum (https://python-forum.io)
+-- Forum: Python Coding (https://python-forum.io/forum-7.html)
+--- Forum: General Coding Help (https://python-forum.io/forum-8.html)
+--- Thread: non-coder asking for coder input on domain dropcatching (/thread-15421.html)

non-coder asking for coder input on domain dropcatching - randomguy - Jan-16-2019

Hello everyone.

I am not a coder, but I sometimes pay programmers to do work for me. I need all the info I can gather from any generous strangers. This will probably be a long read, but an interesting one. The couple of coders I've talked to about this have never heard of this sort of thing before.

Anyways, I am a domainer. I buy and sell domains. One of the best (probably THE best) ways to get good domains without paying too much is backordering expired domains and bidding on them after they are caught.

How this works is as follows:

After expiration, domains will enter several stages of redemption during which the original owner can renew them for some additional costs. Once the domain hits 5 days from public release from the registry, it enters the pending delete stage. A domain cannot be renewed in this stage and will drop in 5 days from entering pending delete. There are online lists of dropping domains which can be filtered to find desirable names, which is what people do. They will then backorder a domain with a dropcatcher. A dropcatcher is a service which will attempt to register or ''catch'' the domain as soon as possible from its release. People who do this seriously will typically backorder their domains with as many dropcatchers as possible and bid on them on whichever platform gets the domain.