Python Forum
Converting text data into numeric to use SVM - Printable Version

+- Python Forum (https://python-forum.io)
+-- Forum: Python Coding (https://python-forum.io/forum-7.html)
+--- Forum: Data Science (https://python-forum.io/forum-44.html)
+--- Thread: Converting text data into numeric to use SVM (/thread-15447.html)

Converting text data into numeric to use SVM - mukhan169 - Jan-17-2019

Hello,
I am very new to Python, so I apologize if this is silly question and answer is very easy. I have recently assigned a task to get the text input and apply machine learning so it can perform classification(true or not true). I have 3 text field and base on that a decision has to be made. I want to use SVM. but unfortunately I dont know enough python to convert my text data into int. If someone can guide me into right direction (tutorial, example) to convert the text data to int that will be greatly appreciated. I learn most of the things by taking courses on plural sight. I have not figure out which course would guide me through the conversion, hence my question.
Thanks in advance for your help.

RE: Converting text data into numeric to use SVM - perfringo - Jan-18-2019

(Jan-17-2019, 06:33 PM)mukhan169 Wrote: I dont know enough python to convert my text data into int. If someone can guide me into right direction (tutorial, example) to convert the text data to int that will be greatly appreciated.

In Python you convert string to int with built-in function int().

Some examples:

>>> int('10')
>>> int('0010')
>>> int('1.0')
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "<stdin>", line 1, in <module>
ValueError: invalid literal for int() with base 10: '1.0'

RE: Converting text data into numeric to use SVM - mukhan169 - Jan-18-2019