Python Forum
problems with random number/string - Printable Version

+- Python Forum (https://python-forum.io)
+-- Forum: Python Coding (https://python-forum.io/forum-7.html)
+--- Forum: General Coding Help (https://python-forum.io/forum-8.html)
+--- Thread: problems with random number/string (/thread-16476.html)

problems with random number/string - PrasadPython - Mar-01-2019

I am VERY new to Python (2 weeks in!) and was trying a random test of things I've learned so far (basics with if statements, print commands, etc.) I'm sure there's a better way to do what I'm trying to do, but for now I don't know classes, dictionaries or other techniques that might be helpful. I'm basically trying to create a deck of cards using a random number generator, but when the number is an 11 through a 14 I would like it to display a text string ("J", "Q" for example). What I'm finding is that it doesn't seem to be working for any numbers above 10. I set up the "while" loop, but that was just for testing purposes so I could run multiple iterations at once and see if it was ever resulting in face cards. Can somebody help me with what I'm doing wrong? Again...I'm just a novice, so I very much appreciate the help. Code below!
#Mechanics for random card draw
import random
def deal():
    n=5
    while n>0:
        dealer = random.randint(2,14)
        playercard = random.randint(2,14)
        if dealer == 14:
            displaydealer = "A"
        elif dealer == 13:
            displaydealer = "K"
        elif dealer == 12:
            displaydealer = "Q"
        elif dealer == 11:
            displaydealer = "J"
        else:
            displaydealer = dealer
            print(displaydealer)
        if playercard == 14:
            displayplayercard = "A"
        elif playercard == 13:
            displayplayercard = "K"
        elif playercard == 12:
            displayplayercard = "Q"
        elif playercard == 11:
            displayplayercard = "J"
        else: