Python Forum
Cannot get simple i/o to function. - Printable Version

+- Python Forum (https://python-forum.io)
+-- Forum: Python Coding (https://python-forum.io/forum-7.html)
+--- Forum: General Coding Help (https://python-forum.io/forum-8.html)
+--- Thread: Cannot get simple i/o to function. (/thread-19120.html)

Pages: 1 2

Cannot get simple i/o to function. - jerryi - Jun-13-2019

My first post. I am new to Python and am using Sublime Text Editor with Python 3. Sample code below was pasted from a tutorial file, io.py
It runs, and it asks me to type something. I type a string into the response box and hit enter. Nothing happens.
I have been running numerous learning files w/o problem. Just cannot get i/o to work properly. It seems I need to do something special to get i/o running. Haven't created any projects yet. just small files. I wrote a program to print out all the prime numbers from 2 to a million, for example, without difficulty.

All help would be appreciated.

txt = input("Type something to test this out: ")

# Note that in version 3, the print() function
# requires the use of parenthesis.
print("Is this what you just said? ", txt)

RE: Cannot get simple i/o to function. - joe_momma - Jun-13-2019

you need to format the string and you can do it multiply ways:
print("Is this what you just said? %s" %(txt)) # first
print("Is this what you just said? {0}".format(txt)) #second
print(f"Is this what you just said? txt") # 3.7 and higher

RE: Cannot get simple i/o to function. - jerryi - Jun-13-2019

Thx joe_momma for suggestions, but none of the four bottom lines work.

My original program functions on Android Pydroid 3,
but I cannot get Sublime Text versions on W10 to work with either of my two PCs (desktop or laptop).

txt = input("Type something to test this out: ")
# print("a) Is this what you just said? txt") # does not work on pc with Sublime Text; works on Pydroid 3 for Android