Python Forum
ModuleNotFound error - Printable Version

+- Python Forum (https://python-forum.io)
+-- Forum: Python Coding (https://python-forum.io/forum-7.html)
+--- Forum: Homework (https://python-forum.io/forum-9.html)
+--- Thread: ModuleNotFound error (/thread-20287.html)

Pages: 1 2

ModuleNotFound error - HawkeyeKnight - Aug-03-2019

I am a beginner Python student, teaching myself and using the Head First Python book as a guide. I am running Python on a Windows 10 machine using Python 3.7. I am working a section where you need to import from a distribution package called vsearch that you previously created. However, whenever I try to run the code, I get a "ModuleNotFound" error.

My first assumption was that I had not gotten the site-packages location into the Path correctly. I had previously added the site-packages location into Path through the Windows change environment variables module, but thought I had perhaps made an error. I first checked to be sure that Python was looking in the right place, so I ran the command "py -m pip show vsearch", which correctly identified the directory where the vsearch package was located. I then opened Python and ran "import sys" and then "sys.path" to check that the site-packages location was in Path. It showed that the site-packages directory was in the Path that Python was checking.

At this point, I am not sure what to do next. The only thing that I am not sure about is that in the site-packages directory, the vsearch folder name is "vsearch-1.0-py3.7-egg.info". If this is correct, then I am at a loss as to why Python continues to report a ModuleNotFound error when I try to import from vsearch. Any assistance greatly appreciated.

RE: ModuleNotFound error - Larz60+ - Aug-03-2019

you need to install the module.
form command line, type:
pip -V
if it shows python 3.7.1, then type:
pip install vsearch
otherwise
pip3 install vsearch

RE: ModuleNotFound error - HawkeyeKnight - Aug-03-2019