Python Forum
Coding problem scraping Goodreads reviews with GoodReadsScraper - Printable Version

+- Python Forum (https://python-forum.io)
+-- Forum: Python Coding (https://python-forum.io/forum-7.html)
+--- Forum: Web Scraping & Web Development (https://python-forum.io/forum-13.html)
+--- Thread: Coding problem scraping Goodreads reviews with GoodReadsScraper (/thread-23569.html)

Coding problem scraping Goodreads reviews with GoodReadsScraper - ledgreve - Jan-06-2020

Hello,

I came across OmarEinea's GoodReadsScraper on Github (https://github.com/OmarEinea/GoodReadsScraper) and would like to use his scripts to scrape the English reviews of some English books on Goodreads.

Because I am very new to working with python, I don't have as much insight as I would like into what the different parts of a script mean. Therefore, I would be very grateful if someone with more experience would take a look at the scripts and the steps I took in order to tell me what I did wrong.

I downloaded the ZIP-file containing his scripts, installed the requirements and created a shelf on Goodreads containing the books of which I wanted to scrape the reviews. Because I wanted to scrape English reviews, I changed all istances of "ar" or "arabic" in his scripts to "en" and "english".

The first problem I have is that I do not really understand where I have to add information (and which information) to get what I need. OmarEinea's instruction are very brief and unfortunately do not suffice for me as a layperson to know what I need to change and in which script and which exact place I need to change it.

What I did was:
1) filled in my username and password in Browser.py
2) changed the path to "Users\xxx\Desktop\GoodReadsScraper-master\BookReviews" in Tools.py
3) created Test.py, consisting of the following code (in which "xxx" stands for the id of my shelf containing the books of which I wish to scrape the reviews):
from Books import Books
from Reviews import Reviews
from Tools import *