Python Forum
ValueError: Found input variables with inconsistent numbers of sample - Printable Version

+- Python Forum (https://python-forum.io)
+-- Forum: Python Coding (https://python-forum.io/forum-7.html)
+--- Forum: Data Science (https://python-forum.io/forum-44.html)
+--- Thread: ValueError: Found input variables with inconsistent numbers of sample (/thread-25271.html)

ValueError: Found input variables with inconsistent numbers of sample - robert2joe - Mar-25-2020

Dear all,

I am new to Python and I am trying to complete a piece of coursework that involves Support Vector Machines, Principal Component Analysis and Cost-Support Vector Classifiers.

Firstly I have made a scatter plot from two sets of data that were provided.

I have normalised the data and believed i have split the data into smaller datasets using train_test_spilt.

The issue occurs when I am using the C-SVC SVM to achieve the highest classification rate of the data I have collected from the scatter plot, by imputing two values in the parameters C(cost) and γ(gamma).

The code is as follows:
svc1 = SVC(kernel ='rbf', class_weight='balanced', C=50, gamma=0.1)
model1 = svc1.fit(scaled_tester, Sytrain)

"""The fitted model should be validated on the scaled validation set. """
vyfit1 = model1.predict(scaled_valX)

"""Performance measurements"""
from sklearn import metrics 
print('Accuracy:', metrics.accuracy_score(vtest, vyfit1))

from sklearn.metrics import classification_report
print(classification_report(vtest, vyfit1,
                            target_names=faces.target_names))
The error message is as follows:
Error: