Python Forum
Taking user input and storing that to a variable then storing that variable to a list - Printable Version

+- Python Forum (https://python-forum.io)
+-- Forum: Python Coding (https://python-forum.io/forum-7.html)
+--- Forum: General Coding Help (https://python-forum.io/forum-8.html)
+--- Thread: Taking user input and storing that to a variable then storing that variable to a list (/thread-2602.html)

Pages: 1 2

Taking user input and storing that to a variable then storing that variable to a list - jowalk - Mar-27-2017

Hey Guys,

I'm new to Python programming and am having trouble finding some information on some coding I am trying to write for fun. I have some experience with c++ programming so i understand some of the basic structure of coding, however i can't find a way to get the program I am working on to do what i need it to.

Basically i am trying to take user input and store it to a variable and store that variable to a list defined by another variable then be able to retrieve that user input by having the user enter a number so...

user inputs item_number as 75 lets say 75 is for this purpose a serial number
user inputs item_name as hat
user inputs item_price as 10.25

this would be the information for item1

so item1 = [item_number, item_name, item_price]??

then if the user chooses to list all items stored i would print item1
where the items and there info would be listed 
1: s/n 75
    hat

formatting aside at this time I want the user to be able to reference the s/n but not actually have to enter the s/n to select the number

firstly can a variable that is defined with user input from an if statement be stored in a list as i have it here above

and if it can then is it as simple as assigning that "item1" to be printed if the user inputs say the number 1??

RE: Taking user input and storing that to a variable then storing that variable to a list - wavic - Mar-27-2017

def user_input():
    item_number = input("Item number: ")