Python Forum
Code help? - Printable Version

+- Python Forum (https://python-forum.io)
+-- Forum: Python Coding (https://python-forum.io/forum-7.html)
+--- Forum: Homework (https://python-forum.io/forum-9.html)
+--- Thread: Code help? (/thread-26988.html)

Pages: 1 2

Code help? - Beau - May-21-2020

Hi if someone could help me id be really grateful..
im new to this and just started studying it.. I been asked to write a simple code asking for a number of burgers a pre determined price and to give the total cost of it after.

Ive managed to do this with some messing about and several youtube videos, however I don't really understand something. if I put the code below at first I was * (multiplying) num_burger bhy cost_burger and was getting an error message, however when I reversed it to cost_burger by num_burger it was ok? could someone explain this to me so I don't run into the same problem especially when doing bigger coding.. Many Thanks

This one works...

num_burgers = input("how many burgers do you want ? ")
cost_burgers = 1.55

print("\nok each burgers cost 1.55 each")
print("\nso the price of your burger will be £" + str(float((cost_burgers) * (float(num_burgers)))))
However this doesn't????

cost_burgers = 1.55

print("\nso the price of your burger will be £" + str(float((num_burgers) * (float(cost_burgers)))))
Many thanks

RE: Code help? - GOTO10 - May-21-2020

You should be using BBCode when posting your code. I'm sure a moderator will be along shortly to clean it up for you. Smile

In the first version of your code, you are explicitly converting num_burgers to a float: float(num_burgers)

In the second version, you are not converting num_burgers at all, just attempting to multiply it and then present the output as a float. Only use as many parentheses as you actually need, and it will be easier to see. Technically, since you've already defined cost_burgers with a float value, there is no need to use float() on it.