Python Forum
how set/change env var PYTHONOPTIMIZE in Python 3 / 3.7 / 3.8 ???? - Printable Version

+- Python Forum (https://python-forum.io)
+-- Forum: Python Coding (https://python-forum.io/forum-7.html)
+--- Forum: General Coding Help (https://python-forum.io/forum-8.html)
+--- Thread: how set/change env var PYTHONOPTIMIZE in Python 3 / 3.7 / 3.8 ???? (/thread-28763.html)



how set/change env var PYTHONOPTIMIZE in Python 3 / 3.7 / 3.8 ???? - lsepolis123 - Aug-02-2020

how set/change env var PYTHONOPTIMIZE in Python 3 / 3.7 / 3.8 ????

I want to skip assertion... how?

a = input("enter a number: ")

assert int(a) > 0 or int(a) < 0, "a is zero" # also a != 0

# https://docs.python.org/3/using/cmdline.html#envvar-PYTHONOPTIMIZE

"""
PYTHONOPTIMIZE
If this is set to a non-empty string it is equivalent to specifying the -O option. If set to an integer, it is equivalent to specifying -O multiple times.
"""


RE: how set/change env var PYTHONOPTIMIZE in Python 3 / 3.7 / 3.8 ???? - Gribouillis - Aug-02-2020

You can change it like any environment variable in your OS (which is?) That said, why not simply run python with the -O option?


RE: how set/change env var PYTHONOPTIMIZE in Python 3 / 3.7 / 3.8 ???? - lsepolis123 - Aug-03-2020

(Aug-02-2020, 04:12 PM)Gribouillis Wrote: You can change it like any environment variable in your OS (which is?) That said, why not simply run python with the -O option?

when you say:
That said, why not simply run python with the -O option

What do you mean in Python IDLE or Thonny Python Editor? When running/executing the file.py... how?

Please give an example


RE: how set/change env var PYTHONOPTIMIZE in Python 3 / 3.7 / 3.8 ???? - Gribouillis - Aug-03-2020

With IDLE in python 3.8 it works for me if I open IDLE with the -O switch on the command line
Output:
python3.8 -O -m idlelib
It seems that idle propagates the -O flag to the scripts that it runs.

With Thonny, it didn't work with the -O flag, but it worked with this command line (in linux)
Output:
PYTHONOPTIMIZE=1 python3.8 -m thonny



RE: how set/change env var PYTHONOPTIMIZE in Python 3 / 3.7 / 3.8 ???? - lsepolis123 - Aug-03-2020

idlelib
WIN 10 --- HOW find where IDLE installed ???

This
PYTHONOPTIMIZE=1 can be set as Windows env var???