Python Forum
Print variable values from a list of variables - Printable Version

+- Python Forum (https://python-forum.io)
+-- Forum: Python Coding (https://python-forum.io/forum-7.html)
+--- Forum: General Coding Help (https://python-forum.io/forum-8.html)
+--- Thread: Print variable values from a list of variables (/thread-29368.html)

Print variable values from a list of variables - xnightwingx - Aug-30-2020

Sorry, I'm new to python and coding in general. I been searching for some time and haven't found a way to do this.

This is the code so far:
vin1 = 100
vin2 = 200
vin3 = 300
vin4 = 400

vin_numbers = ['vin1', 'vin2', 'vin3', 'vin4']
print('\nAvailable VIN numbers:')
for vin in vin_numbers:
	print(f'{vin} = ')
I'm looking for a way to output the numeric values of the variables in the list rather than the text values from the list. I would really appreciate any help

RE: Print variable values from a list of variables - deanhystad - Aug-30-2020

'vin1' is a string. It is not the variable you initialized to 100. To put the variable values in the list you do this:
vin_numbers=[vin1, vin2, vin3, vin4]
You don't need need to make the variables and can put the values directly in the list.
vin_numbers=[100, 200, 300, 400]

RE: Print variable values from a list of variables - xnightwingx - Aug-30-2020

I see. I think I was trying to do too much with it, when just making the list a list of numbers would be cleaner. thank you!

RE: Print variable values from a list of variables - deanhystad - Sep-01-2020

I don't understand why, but it is a common misconception by many new programmers on this forum that everything needs a variable, as in if you have 4 things you must need 4 variables. I don't know where this thinking comes from, but it is common enough that there must be some popular resource perpetuating this fallacy.