Python Forum
multiprocess hang when certain number is used in the program - Printable Version

+- Python Forum (https://python-forum.io)
+-- Forum: Python Coding (https://python-forum.io/forum-7.html)
+--- Forum: General Coding Help (https://python-forum.io/forum-8.html)
+--- Thread: multiprocess hang when certain number is used in the program (/thread-30587.html)

multiprocess hang when certain number is used in the program - esphi - Oct-27-2020

Hi, I am a python beginner, I am starting to learn multiprocessing. I have created this program to simply calculate the squares of a big list of numbers.

The program takes a start_number and a end_number, separates the numbers into groups, then uses multiprocessing to calculate the results.

Each process puts the results in a List, and form a dictionary with their sequence number as key, then put into a Queue.

At the end, the program then combine the results as a list and print out the result list.

The program works fine with the start_number = 1, and end_number = any number between 1 to 12_998.

However, the program does not work when end_number = 12,999. It may work with certain end_number and not others passing 12_999. For example it works with 13_000 thru 13_005 but not 13_006 and not 13_007. It works with 13_008 thru 13_012 but not 13_013 ..... and so on.

I have tried running the same program in different computers with different CPU counts, and both windows and linux. The results are the same. I am using python 3.6.9

I have learned later that multiprocess.Pool is easier to use in this scenario. But I am interested to know what was wrong with my multiprocess.Process program, if anyone is kind enough to have a look.

Thank you.

-----------------
My codes:
-----------------
# This program hang when end number = 12_999 , 13_006, 13_007, 13_013.. etc
from multiprocessing import Process, Queue
from multiprocessing import log_to_stderr, get_logger