Python Forum
Sum Series w/ Fractions - Printable Version

+- Python Forum (https://python-forum.io)
+-- Forum: Python Coding (https://python-forum.io/forum-7.html)
+--- Forum: Homework (https://python-forum.io/forum-9.html)
+--- Thread: Sum Series w/ Fractions (/thread-416.html)

Pages: 1 2

Sum Series w/ Fractions - EwH006 - Oct-10-2016

Good Morning,

I am new to programming and these forums. I plan on becoming a little more active here and on IRC while working toward my degree.

This morning I'm trying to work toward an assignment I have yet to start/complete. I did class work on the subject last Friday so I have an idea how loops work.

The homework I'm doing is just like the class work, except it uses fractions instead to sum. When I change the loop condition to a fraction number I get the floating point error because I believe the loop wants integers.

If someone could give me an idea where to inject fractions or point to a reference where I could find out more I'd appreciate it. Thanks

This is a sample of the class work loop (PYTHON 3): 
sum = 0

for count in range(0, 10, 1):
  print((count+1), end=" ")

print(" = ", sum)

RE: Sum Series w/ Fractions - ichabod801 - Oct-10-2016

First, note that the example given as class work never sums anything. It's going to print the sum from 1 to 10 as 0, when it's actually 55.

Second, the problem as you state it is not clear. What fractions are you supposed to be summing?

Third, try something and tell us clearly how it doesn't work. We don't like to write code for people, we like to help people fix code that isn't working.

RE: Sum Series w/ Fractions - EwH006 - Oct-10-2016

I understand what you mean by: "I'm not summing anything" , I believe. I'm trying to figure out how I replace the code I originally posted which adds "1  +  2  +  3  +  4  +  5  +  6  +  7  +  8  +  9  +  10  +   =  55"