![]() |
Cann't get locale data from IDLE on macOS - Printable Version +- Python Forum (https://python-forum.io) +-- Forum: Python Coding (https://python-forum.io/forum-7.html) +--- Forum: General Coding Help (https://python-forum.io/forum-8.html) +--- Thread: Cann't get locale data from IDLE on macOS (/thread-42123.html) |
Cann't get locale data from IDLE on macOS - roomONmoon - May-14-2024 When trying to execute code from IDLE, I can't get the system locale data on macOS import os ret = os.popen('locale') ret.read().split() ['LANG=', 'LC_COLLATE="C"', 'LC_CTYPE="UTF-8"', 'LC_MESSAGES="C"', 'LC_MONETARY="C"', 'LC_NUMERIC="C"', 'LC_TIME="C"', 'LC_ALL=']But If I'll use bash, I get it Why is this happening and how could I get the locales?
RE: Cann't get locale data from IDLE on macOS - deanhystad - May-14-2024 That is the information for the current locale. Maybe you want output from local -a? RE: Cann't get locale data from IDLE on macOS - roomONmoon - May-14-2024 (May-14-2024, 03:55 PM)deanhystad Wrote: That is the information for the current locale. Maybe you want output from local -a? Yes, I need the current locale. RE: Cann't get locale data from IDLE on macOS - roomONmoon - May-14-2024 I need to know about the language of the system in order to automatically set the language in my application, but I can't get this data on macOS, for unknown reasons. RE: Cann't get locale data from IDLE on macOS - deanhystad - May-14-2024 I don't understand. Those are the settings for the current locale. You are in Russia and you are using UTF8 encoding. What do you want the output to look like? Is the problem that you don't know what the locale codes mean? Have you looked at using the Python locale module? https://docs.python.org/3/library/locale.html RE: Cann't get locale data from IDLE on macOS - roomONmoon - May-14-2024 (May-14-2024, 05:55 PM)deanhystad Wrote: I don't understand. Those are the settings for the current locale. You are in Russia and you are using UTF8 encoding. What do you want the output to look like? Is the problem that you don't know what the locale codes mean? Okay, this is simple example with locale module: (If you have a macOS, you can repeat it) 1. Open IDLE of python3.10+ 2. Past the code from locale import getlocale print(getlocale())3. Try to execute (you'll see empy output locale data) RE: Cann't get locale data from IDLE on macOS - deanhystad - May-14-2024 What version of OS? What version of Python? RE: Cann't get locale data from IDLE on macOS - roomONmoon - May-14-2024 (May-14-2024, 06:51 PM)deanhystad Wrote: What version of OS? What version of Python? macOS Monterey, Python 3.12.3 |