![]() |
Create a new subclass in a Python extension based on an existing class - Printable Version +- Python Forum (https://python-forum.io) +-- Forum: Python Coding (https://python-forum.io/forum-7.html) +--- Forum: General Coding Help (https://python-forum.io/forum-8.html) +--- Thread: Create a new subclass in a Python extension based on an existing class (/thread-44162.html) |
Create a new subclass in a Python extension based on an existing class - voidtrance - Mar-24-2025 I am writing a custom module using the C API for an application. In the extension, I want to define a new enum.IntEnum subclass to be part of the C module.I can't figure out how to do that. All the help that I can find is for creating a completely new custom class or module but nothing for a subclass of an existing Python class. By extension, I can't find any information on how to use the members of the subclass withing the C code. Any help on this is appreciated. Thank you. RE: Create a new subclass in a Python extension based on an existing class - Gribouillis - Mar-24-2025 This seems strange to me. Why do you need the subclass of enum.IntEnum do be defined in C language? Can' you just subclass the Python class using Python code (such code could be embedded in your C code) ?
RE: Create a new subclass in a Python extension based on an existing class - voidtrance - Mar-24-2025 (Mar-24-2025, 04:02 PM)Gribouillis Wrote: This seems strange to me. Why do you need the subclass of How can I embed the Python code into C code? Are you referring to PyRun_SimpleScriptFlags() ? I am fine with embedding Python code into the C code.
RE: Create a new subclass in a Python extension based on an existing class - deanhystad - Mar-24-2025 Can you provide more information about what you are trying to accomplish? Maybe an example of the enumeration and how it would be used in the C code? RE: Create a new subclass in a Python extension based on an existing class - voidtrance - Mar-25-2025 (Mar-24-2025, 07:03 PM)deanhystad Wrote: Can you provide more information about what you are trying to accomplish? Maybe an example of the enumeration and how it would be used in the C code? The C code maintains 3 different types of threads. The thread functions requires some parameters, which need to be configured before they are started. So, I have 3 different structures: struct thread1 { int params1; int params2; }; struct thread2 { int params3; int params4; }; strcut thread3 { int params5; int params6; };In the method exposed by the C code where the configuration happens, I want to have something like this: switch (thread_type) { case THREAD1: ... break; case THREAD2: .... break; case THREAD3; .... break; };So both the Python code and the C code work with the same values, I want the module exposed by the C code to contain the following enumeration: @enum.unique() class ThreadType(enum.IntEnum): THREAD1 = enum.auto() THREAD2 = enum.auto() THREAD3 = enum.auto()In this way, higher level python code can do: import my_c_extension data = {'param1': 2, 'param2': 10 } my_c_extension.configure_thread(my_c_extension.ThreadType.THREAD1, data)Hope this helps give a clearer picture. RE: Create a new subclass in a Python extension based on an existing class - Gribouillis - Mar-25-2025 (Mar-24-2025, 05:37 PM)voidtrance Wrote: How can I embed the Python code into C code? Are you referring to PyRun_SimpleScriptFlags()? I am fine with embedding Python code into the C code.I compiled an example, starting from the extension module shown here, and I added Python code to define the subclass at module initialization. Here is the complete C code // file mycextension.c #define PY_SSIZE_T_CLEAN #include <Python.h> int multiplier(int a, int b) { return a * b; } static PyObject *c_multiplier(PyObject *self, PyObject *args) { int a; int b; int ret; if (!PyArg_ParseTuple(args, "ii", &a, &b)) { return NULL; } ret = multiplier(a, b); return Py_BuildValue("i", ret); } static PyMethodDef module_methods[] = { {"multiplier", c_multiplier, METH_VARARGS, "Multiply two numbers."}, {NULL, NULL, 0, NULL}}; static struct PyModuleDef c_extension = { PyModuleDef_HEAD_INIT, "c_extension", // the name of the module in Python "", // The docstring in Python -1, /* size of per-interpreter state of the module, or -1 if the module keeps state in global variables. */ module_methods}; PyMODINIT_FUNC PyInit_c_extension(void) { PyObject *ns; PyObject *mod; char* code = "import enum\n" "@enum.unique\n" "class ThreadType(enum.IntEnum):\n" " THREAD1 = enum.auto()\n" " THREAD2 = enum.auto()\n" " THREAD3 = enum.auto()\n"; mod = PyModule_Create(&c_extension); ns = PyObject_GetAttrString(mod, "__dict__"); PyRun_String(code, Py_file_input, ns, ns); Py_DECREF(ns); return mod; }Here is the setup.py file from distutils.core import setup, Extension module = Extension("c_extension", sources=["mycextension.c"]) setup( name="c_extension", version="0.1", description="An example of C extension made callable to the Python API.", ext_modules=[module], )All this is installed by invoking python -m pip install . in the extension's directory.Here is the result in the Python console >>> import c_extension >>> c_extension.ThreadType.THREAD1 <ThreadType.THREAD1: 1> RE: Create a new subclass in a Python extension based on an existing class - voidtrance - Mar-25-2025 (Mar-25-2025, 06:09 PM)Gribouillis Wrote: I compiled an example, starting from the extension module shown here, and I added Python code to define the subclass at module initialization. Thank you for your help! |