Python Forum
Trapezoidal integration method in python. Getting wrong results - Printable Version

+- Python Forum (https://python-forum.io)
+-- Forum: Python Coding (https://python-forum.io/forum-7.html)
+--- Forum: General Coding Help (https://python-forum.io/forum-8.html)
+--- Thread: Trapezoidal integration method in python. Getting wrong results (/thread-5612.html)

Trapezoidal integration method in python. Getting wrong results - auting82 - Oct-13-2017

Hi, I am pretty new to Python so I want to appoligize ahead if my question is a bit silly.
I copied som finished code to test a well known numerical method Trapezoidal for computation of Integrals of functions:
The code worked , at least I thinki it did but I am getting the wrong result, and I just dont know why?

I create a function as seen below in the Python editor. I am using Spyder by the way.
def trapezoidal(f, a, b, n):
h = float(b-a)/n
result = 0.5*f(a) + 0.5*f(b)
for i in range(1, n):
result += f(a + i*h)
result *= h
return result
In the IPython Console I type this:

>>> from trapezoidal import trapezoidal
>>> from math import exp
>>> v = lambda t: 3*(t**2)*exp(t**3)
>>> n = 4
>>> numerical = trapezoidal(v, 0, 1, n)
>>> numerical

Instead of getting the result: 1.9227167504675762 as noted in the book I am reading. I get this:1.1621952071921449

Does anybody have an idea where the error is???

RE: Trapezoidal integration method in python. Getting wrong results - buran - Oct-13-2017

well, with this

from math import exp
def trapezoidal(f, a, b, n):
    h = float(b-a)/n
    result = 0.5*f(a) + 0.5*f(b)
    for i in range(1, n):
        result += f(a + i*h)
    result *= h
    return result

v = lambda t: 3*(t**2)*exp(t**3)
n = 4
numerical = trapezoidal(v, 0, 1, n)
print numerical
I get 1.92271675047
EDIT: after fixing the indent (line #7)  I get the result from the book

RE: Trapezoidal integration method in python. Getting wrong results - auting82 - Oct-14-2017

Hi Buran and thanks for reply.