Python Forum
Command in Bash not working in python - Printable Version

+- Python Forum (https://python-forum.io)
+-- Forum: Python Coding (https://python-forum.io/forum-7.html)
+--- Forum: General Coding Help (https://python-forum.io/forum-8.html)
+--- Thread: Command in Bash not working in python (/thread-7347.html)



Command in Bash not working in python - pynoob - Jan-05-2018

I am receiving a 'No such file or directory' error on a command that is working in bash shell.
Here is the code:
#!/bin/python
from datetime import date, timedelta
import subprocess
import os
y = date.today() - timedelta(1)
strFile = 'Backup-' + y.strftime('%m-%d-%y') + '.7z'
cmdZip = '7z a ' + strFile + ' /home/dvdsrv/stores/*'
os.chdir('/home/dvdsrv/stores')
suprocess.Popen(cmdZip)
If I go through each line in the python interpreter and then check values,
os.getcwd() returns '/home/dvdsrv/stores'
and cmdZip returns '7z a -t7z Backup-01-04-18.7z /home/dvdsrv/stores/*'
And when I run that command from bash it works, but calling it from subprocess.Popen() gives me the error.
What am I missing here?


RE: Command in Bash not working in python - hshivaraj - Jan-05-2018

Try replacing your subprocess to this

subprocess.Popen("7z a -t7z Backup-01-04-18.7z *", cwd="/home/dvdsrv/stores")



RE: Command in Bash not working in python - pynoob - Jan-05-2018

(Jan-05-2018, 04:53 PM)hshivaraj Wrote: Try replacing your subprocess to this

subprocess.Popen("7z a -t7z Backup-01-04-18.7z *", cwd="/home/dvdsrv/stores")

Thanks for the reply. Unfortunately I am receiving the same error.


RE: Command in Bash not working in python - hshivaraj - Jan-05-2018

subprocess.Popen(["7z", "a", "-t7z", "Backup-01-04-18.7z",  "/home/dvdsrv/stores/*"]).communicate()
I got this working.

And reason are in the documentation

Quote:args should be a sequence of program arguments or else a single string. By default, the program to execute is the first item in args if args is a sequence. If args is a string, the interpretation is platform-dependent and described below. See the shell and executable arguments for additional differences from the default behavior. Unless otherwise stated, it is recommended to pass args as a sequence.

On Unix, if args is a string, the string is interpreted as the name or path of the program to execute. However, this can only be done if not passing arguments to the program.



RE: Command in Bash not working in python - snippsat - Jan-05-2018

The last way @hshivaraj show is the advisable way to do it.
Split command into a list then default shell=False is used.

If use one string command like in first examples then most set shell=True,
but this has security considerations.


RE: Command in Bash not working in python - pynoob - Jan-05-2018

Thanks for the input!