![]() |
Command in Bash not working in python - Printable Version +- Python Forum (https://python-forum.io) +-- Forum: Python Coding (https://python-forum.io/forum-7.html) +--- Forum: General Coding Help (https://python-forum.io/forum-8.html) +--- Thread: Command in Bash not working in python (/thread-7347.html) |
Command in Bash not working in python - pynoob - Jan-05-2018 I am receiving a 'No such file or directory' error on a command that is working in bash shell. Here is the code: #!/bin/python from datetime import date, timedelta import subprocess import os y = date.today() - timedelta(1) strFile = 'Backup-' + y.strftime('%m-%d-%y') + '.7z' cmdZip = '7z a ' + strFile + ' /home/dvdsrv/stores/*' os.chdir('/home/dvdsrv/stores') suprocess.Popen(cmdZip)If I go through each line in the python interpreter and then check values, os.getcwd() returns '/home/dvdsrv/stores' and cmdZip returns '7z a -t7z Backup-01-04-18.7z /home/dvdsrv/stores/*' And when I run that command from bash it works, but calling it from subprocess.Popen() gives me the error. What am I missing here? RE: Command in Bash not working in python - hshivaraj - Jan-05-2018 Try replacing your subprocess to this subprocess.Popen("7z a -t7z Backup-01-04-18.7z *", cwd="/home/dvdsrv/stores") RE: Command in Bash not working in python - pynoob - Jan-05-2018 (Jan-05-2018, 04:53 PM)hshivaraj Wrote: Try replacing your subprocess to this Thanks for the reply. Unfortunately I am receiving the same error. RE: Command in Bash not working in python - hshivaraj - Jan-05-2018 subprocess.Popen(["7z", "a", "-t7z", "Backup-01-04-18.7z", "/home/dvdsrv/stores/*"]).communicate()I got this working. And reason are in the documentation Quote:args should be a sequence of program arguments or else a single string. By default, the program to execute is the first item in args if args is a sequence. If args is a string, the interpretation is platform-dependent and described below. See the shell and executable arguments for additional differences from the default behavior. Unless otherwise stated, it is recommended to pass args as a sequence. RE: Command in Bash not working in python - snippsat - Jan-05-2018 The last way @hshivaraj show is the advisable way to do it. Split command into a list then default shell=False is used.If use one string command like in first examples then most set shell=True ,but this has security considerations. RE: Command in Bash not working in python - pynoob - Jan-05-2018 Thanks for the input! |