Python Forum
Run python script - Printable Version

+- Python Forum (https://python-forum.io)
+-- Forum: Python Coding (https://python-forum.io/forum-7.html)
+--- Forum: General Coding Help (https://python-forum.io/forum-8.html)
+--- Thread: Run python script (/thread-7626.html)

Run python script - AndyDD_UK - Jan-18-2018

Hi

Newbie here. I have searched for this but cannot see an answer, apologies if I've missed something...

I'm currently learning python but am running a script someone has created each day.

The way they've told me to run the script (laptop/windows) is to go into the cmd line and then to locate the programme eg by typing cd desktop then cd folder_name and continue for each subfolder

Then to python programme_name.py and return

This feels a bit long winded

I've opened up the programme_name.py file directly and pressed return and then it (appears to) run ok.

Is this the best way of executing the code (ie rather than via cmd line)?

RE: Run python script - buran - Jan-18-2018

(Jan-18-2018, 10:41 AM)AndyDD_UK Wrote: I've opened up the programme_name.py file directly and pressed return and then it (appears to) run ok.
where did you open the program?
Or do you mean that you browsed to program location in Explorer, select it and run it by simply hit Enter?

RE: Run python script - AndyDD_UK - Jan-18-2018

hi, thanks very much for your prompt reply!

its in a folder on my desktop so I opened the folder, then right-click-open the python file then pressed enter

this seems a much easier/quicker way to execute the file, unless i'm missing something (am newbie!)

many thanks

in general case it's not a problem to do what you do, as long as on windows .py extension is associated with the python interpreter.
There are plenty of IFs:

1. If you have multiple python installations - e.g. python2, python3 it's not clear which interpreter will run the script. It will depend on your environmental variables