Python Forum
How can I create a multiline input in ipython?
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
How can I create a multiline input in ipython?
#1
Dear all

I am working with the book Python Data Science Handbook by Jake VanderPlas. The author uses ipython in the book.

There are some code examples where the input consists of multiple lines (without execution). For example:

In[1]: L = list(range(10))
       L 
Out[1]: [0,1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9]
How can I type that in that without executing the first line (when hitting enter)? enter+shift does not work, I have tried that out.

Thanks for your help!
Reply


Messages In This Thread
How can I create a multiline input in ipython? - by DataMower - Oct-28-2019, 07:00 PM

Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  IPython errors for numpy array min/max methods muelaner 1 1,655 Nov-04-2023, 09:22 PM
Last Post: snippsat
  capturing multiline output for number of parameters jss 3 1,868 Sep-01-2023, 05:42 PM
Last Post: jss
  Can a program execute code in iPython shell and get result? deanhystad 3 2,930 Jun-17-2022, 03:45 AM
Last Post: Larz60+
  Presenting multiline data into single line aaronbuhu 1 2,605 Aug-05-2021, 10:57 AM
Last Post: jamesaarr
  Multiline comments macfanpl 6 4,199 May-07-2020, 08:14 PM
Last Post: macfanpl
  IPython console vs Spyder script losc 3 3,854 Apr-30-2020, 04:57 AM
Last Post: deanhystad
  ipython autocomplete broke indentation! Exsul 6 6,252 Aug-20-2019, 01:29 AM
Last Post: Exsul
  How do I create a user input for three integers in a range or just the stop input Pleiades 3 3,875 Nov-22-2018, 02:19 PM
Last Post: Larz60+
  Change values in string multiline DavidFernandez 4 4,335 Aug-26-2018, 08:09 PM
Last Post: buran
  How to clear IPython console in Spyder? Vai 7 63,692 Aug-20-2018, 09:43 PM
Last Post: james_balcomb

Forum Jump:

User Panel Messages

Announcements
Announcement #1 8/1/2020
Announcement #2 8/2/2020
Announcement #3 8/6/2020