Python Forum
How do you take terminal inputs w/o halting running code?
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
How do you take terminal inputs w/o halting running code?
#1
Hi,

I have an application which runs indefinitely (a while True loop until a keyboard interrupt stops the program). Now I want to be able to give some commands to it for debugging and testing purpose while this program is in running state.
Using the input() function halts the running program. Anyway to do this parallely?

Thanks
Reply


Messages In This Thread
How do you take terminal inputs w/o halting running code? - by Bhoot - Apr-17-2020, 07:04 AM

Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  problem in running a code akbarza 7 709 Feb-14-2024, 02:57 PM
Last Post: snippsat
  writing and running code in vscode without saving it akbarza 1 426 Jan-11-2024, 02:59 PM
Last Post: deanhystad
  the order of running code in a decorator function akbarza 2 563 Nov-10-2023, 08:09 AM
Last Post: akbarza
  Code freez if more inputs kiko058 2 840 Mar-28-2023, 03:52 PM
Last Post: kiko058
  Python VS Code: using print command twice but not getting output from terminal kdx264 4 1,133 Jan-16-2023, 07:38 PM
Last Post: Skaperen
  Code running many times nad not just one? korenron 4 1,396 Jul-24-2022, 08:12 AM
Last Post: korenron
  Error while running code on VSC maiya 4 3,841 Jul-01-2022, 02:51 PM
Last Post: maiya
  code running for more than an hour now, yet didn't get any result, what should I do? aiden 2 1,543 Apr-06-2022, 03:41 PM
Last Post: Gribouillis
  Why is this Python code running twice? mcva 5 5,357 Feb-02-2022, 10:21 AM
Last Post: mcva
  Python keeps running the old version of the code quest 2 3,828 Jan-20-2022, 07:34 AM
Last Post: ThiefOfTime

Forum Jump:

User Panel Messages

Announcements
Announcement #1 8/1/2020
Announcement #2 8/2/2020
Announcement #3 8/6/2020