Python Forum
What to do after learning python basics
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
What to do after learning python basics
I am new to programming. I am currently learning python and have been using numerous sources to learn. As my main aim was to use python for automation, my main source has been the udemy course Automate the boring stuff with python along with the text book for exercises.

However, I have come across a few problems. I am learning to create programs. For example I have learnt how to make a web scraper. The problem is, I know how to make one but I dont fully understand it. Like i know to use the beautiful soup module and I know what functions to import as the course/books tell me. But i dont fully understand. Like if i was to create a program completely different. How do i know what modules to use and what functions are in that module that i could use? On the course it tells you what functions to use but the thing is, if i didnt watch the video, how would i know what function to use. It doesn't tell you where you can find the functions and use what you need. Although this is the only flaw in a really good book i have to say, I have learnt a lot from this course but this part i seem to struggle with and it seems to be the same with other courses i have tried.

I want to be a programmer that will be given a problem and i know how to create a solution. Like i will know exactly what module to use, what functions are in that module that i will need etc. For now i am just learning to make an app for a problem the course provides me but i dont know how i would be able to alter it to tailor my own circumstances. I want to be able to understand everything that I am writing.