Python Forum
[SOLVED] OSError: [Errno 22] Invalid argument
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
[SOLVED] OSError: [Errno 22] Invalid argument
When trying to write to a log file, i get the error OSError: [Errno 22] Invalid argument

The code i am using is as follows:
import datetime
import logging
logger = logging.getLogger('k')
hdlr = logging.FileHandler('Path to the log file/Logs/log'+str(datetime.datetime.now())+'.log')
formatter = logging.Formatter('At %(asctime)s, the program returned %(message)s at level %(levelname)s
hdlr.setFormatter(formatter)
logger.addHandler(hdlr)
logger.setLevel(logging.INFO)
logger.info('Hello')
Self-taught HTML, CSS, Python, and Java programmer
Does the 'Path to the log file' directory exists in your working directory?
"As they say in Mexico 'dosvidaniya'. That makes two vidaniyas."
https://freedns.afraid.org
(Jun-03-2018, 02:09 PM)wavic Wrote: Does the 'Path to the log file' directory exists in your working directory?

Yes
You have a directory called 'Path to the log file' and its subdir 'Logs'?

Post the full error traceback in error tags, please.
Error:
Traceback (most recent call last): File "C:\Users\Richard\Desktop\Atom\K\K.py", line 20, in <module> hdlr = logging.FileHandler('/Users/Richard/Desktop/Atom/K/Logs/log'+str(datetime.datetime.now())+'.log') File "C:\Users\Richard\AppData\Local\Programs\Python\Python36-32\lib\logging\__init__.py", line 1025, in __init__ StreamHandler.__init__(self, self._open()) File "C:\Users\Richard\AppData\Local\Programs\Python\Python36-32\lib\logging\__init__.py", line 1054, in _open return open(self.baseFilename, self.mode, encoding=self.encoding) OSError: [Errno 22] Invalid argument: 'C:\\Users\\Richard\\Desktop\\Atom\\K\\Logs\\log2018-06-03 09:53:07.712997.log'
I presume that you are following some book or tutorial.

On line 4 in your code, instead of 'Path to the log file' put your path 'C:/Users/Richard/Desktop/Atom/K'.