3 blue
4 red
5 blue
6 blue
7 red
8 blue
9 blue
10 blue

My code reads the above comma delimited file and tallies the counts for each color:
import csv
from datetime import datetime
blue_count = 0
red_count = 0
blues = []
reds = []

with open(r'C:\Users\delliott\Desktop\SDA Update\colors.csv', 'r') as f:
    reader = csv.reader(f)
    next(reader, None)  # skip the headers
    for row in reader:
        for k in row[0]:
            if 'blue' in row [1]:
                blue_count += 1
                blues.append(row[0])
            break

reader = csv.reader(f)
    for row in reader:
        for k in row[0]:
            if 'red' in row [1]:
                red_count += 1
                reds.append(row[0])
            break

print('blue count ' + str(blue_count))
print('red count ' + str(red_count))
This is an oversimplification of a much longer program that will need to use the same data for multiple loops. I could easily use an if/else for the above in one loop. I am new to Python and want to learn the best way to reset (restart) the csv.reader. The above is just a mockup.

How can I reset the csv.reader for the second loop instead of loading the csv file again?
Thanks.
You're reading a file, so using seek() can let you choose where in the file you are: https://docs.python.org/3/library/io.htm...OBase.seek

import csv

blue = 0

with open("my-file.csv") as f:
    reader = csv.reader(f)
    # skip headers
    next(reader)
    for row in reader:
        if "blue" in row:
            blue += 1

if blue > 5:
                f.seek(0)
                # skip headers again
                next(reader)

if blue > 50:
            break
        print(row)
print(f"blue={blue}")
Output: