Python Forum
Identifying items in a csv file that also appear in a Text extract
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Identifying items in a csv file that also appear in a Text extract
I am new to Python.  I have a text extract from a database and a csv wikipedia list of all countries , and I would like to check if the country is mentioned in the text and the number of times that it is mentioned. This is what I have done so far:

<code>
text = pd.read_sql(select_string, con)

#clean up
text = text.replace({'\n': ' '}, regex=True)
text = text.replace({'-': ' '}, regex=True)

text = text['ProductText']

print(text) #making sure it looks ok

country_codes = pd.read_csv('country-codes.csv')

codes = country_codes['English short name lower case']

count_occurrences=Counter(country for country in text if country in codes)

print(count_occurrences)
The problem is that the last piece of code is not picking up any countries at all so the output is Counter()

I suspect that the problem is with the loop but I am not sure how to fix it - any help would really be appreciated :)
What does Counter() look like?  What does country_codes, and more specifically, codes, look like?
Also, you should probably rename some of your variables to... match what they actually are.  Like this:
count_occurrences = Counter(word for word in text if word in codes)
Since we're assuming that not *every* word in the article is a country code.
Also, are you putting the whole text into lower/uppercase anywhere?  If you're looking for "can", it wouldn't match "CAN" at all, for those poor Canadians :(
from collections import Counter

counter = Counter(iterable)

print(counter['item'])
How does this syntax highlighting works?  :huh:
"As they say in Mexico 'dosvidaniya'. That makes two vidaniyas."
https://freedns.afraid.org