Python Forum
C++ programmer requests Python Web/database advice
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
C++ programmer requests Python Web/database advice
Hi folks,

I am an experienced C++ desktop-app programmer. I have a moderate amount of experience with SQL but no experience with Python or Web programming. I've recently received requests from customers for what amounts to a Web interface to a database. I'd like to get some opinions on whether or not Python is the way to go for these jobs, and also get some suggestions about using Python if you're a C++ programmer. First though, let me describe the requested Web sites:

The Web site is an interface to a collection of resources on a particular topic. (The resources are PDF or text files, though this is not central to the problem I'm describing.) Information about the resources is stored in a database. The user defines what resources she is interested in by specifying a filter in the Web interface. The interface returns all records from the database that match the filter and then the user can download any of the resources (files) specified by those records.

For example, suppose the resources are files with short pieces of text that are designed to help people learn how to read. The database contains information about text, such as its word count, the author, date of publication and various technical measurements of how well the text is suitable for teaching reading. A user would go to the Web site and ask the site to fetch records that corespond to texts that, for example, have at least 200 words, were published between 2000-2019, have authors from the United States, Spain or Argentina, and have Measurement A of at least 200 and Measurement D of less than 10. The site would display those records, the user would choose which records are of interest and then download the resources associated with the chosen records.

Here are the requirements of the Web site that I want: