Python Forum
loop through python pandas data frame
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
loop through python pandas data frame
#1
Hello,

I tried to loop through pandas data frame.
However I receive an error message.

with a code like this:

one error is unexpected EOF while parsing,
another is row is not define.
Please advise or does someone have a working example of how to loop through a pandas data frame ?

inp = pd.DataFrame([{'c1':10, 'c2':100}, {'c1':11,'c2':110}, {'c1':12,'c2':120}])
df = pd.DataFrame(inp)
print (df)

for index, row in df.iterrows():
    print(row['c1'], row['c2'])
Reply
#2
The creation of the dataframe can be simplified but everything works fine for me
import pandas as pd

inp = [{'c1':10, 'c2':100}, {'c1':11,'c2':110}, {'c1':12,'c2':120}]
df = pd.DataFrame(inp)
print(df)
Output:
c1 c2 0 10 100 1 11 110 2 12 120

for index, row in df.iterrows():
    #print(index)
    #print(row)
    print(row['c1'], row['c2'])
    print()
Output:
10 100 11 110 12 120
Reply
#3
I am getting this exact error message running the second part of your code.
I don't know why.


Quote:for index, row in df.iterrows():
File "<ipython-input-5-d488e4dd19c4>", line 1
for index, row in df.iterrows():
^
SyntaxError: unexpected EOF while parsing
Reply
#4
That´s interesting.
Maybe there is some unknown (invisible) character in front of this code?
Please use a new cell (i assume you are using Jupyter notebook)
and do not copy paste but type code into it.
Reply
#5
(Sep-01-2019, 06:19 PM)ThomasL Wrote: That´s interesting. Maybe there is some unknown (invisible) character in front of this code? Please use a new cell (i assume you are using Jupyter notebook) and do not copy paste but type code into it.

I did retype it and use instead of c1, c2, d1, d2.
I am not using Jupyter, but Spyder.

(Sep-01-2019, 06:19 PM)ThomasL Wrote: That´s interesting. Maybe there is some unknown (invisible) character in front of this code? Please use a new cell (i assume you are using Jupyter notebook) and do not copy paste but type code into it.

I found out what happen.
I was running the code line by line is why I got those message.
When I run them as chunks it works. Thanks !
Reply


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Better python library to create ER Diagram by using pandas data frames as tables klllmmm 0 949 Oct-19-2023, 01:01 PM
Last Post: klllmmm
  Using pyodbc&pandas to load a Table data to df tester_V 3 725 Sep-09-2023, 08:55 PM
Last Post: tester_V
  how do you style data frame that has empty rows. gsaray101 0 484 Sep-08-2023, 05:20 PM
Last Post: gsaray101
  Python loop for posting data to web marciokoko 10 1,453 Aug-26-2023, 02:17 AM
Last Post: deanhystad
  googletrans library to translate text language for using data frame is not running gcozba2023 0 1,132 Mar-06-2023, 09:50 AM
Last Post: gcozba2023
  export into excel, how to implement pandas into for-loop deneme2 6 2,314 Sep-01-2022, 05:44 AM
Last Post: deneme2
  Load multiple Jason data in one Data Frame vijays3 6 1,482 Aug-12-2022, 05:17 PM
Last Post: vijays3
  conditionals based on data frame mbrown009 1 861 Aug-12-2022, 08:18 AM
Last Post: Larz60+
  Merging two Data Frame on a special case piku9290dgp 0 1,058 Mar-02-2022, 10:43 AM
Last Post: piku9290dgp
  Save data frame to .csv df.to.csv() mcva 1 1,475 Feb-03-2022, 07:05 PM
Last Post: mcva

Forum Jump:

User Panel Messages

Announcements
Announcement #1 8/1/2020
Announcement #2 8/2/2020
Announcement #3 8/6/2020