Python Forum
Merge CSV Column using Pandas Data Frames
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Merge CSV Column using Pandas Data Frames
I'm new to python so there's plenty of things which I likely could improve upon with my code but the main focus is, "How to merge columns of data from a multiple csv files into a single data frame and then write that data frame to a new file". The contents of the data is server resource metric data. I export this data from the monitoring tool. The code I have written will join the files of which have the same number of columns:
import os, glob, shutil, pandas as pd
from datetime import datetime

app = 'app1'
metric = 'disk'

#File config settings
now = datetime.now()
date = now.strftime("%Y%m%d_%H%M%S")
source = ('C:\scripts\files\\' + app + '\\' + metric)
os.chdir(source)
csvFiles = glob.glob('*.csv')

#Sort the files prior to processing
csvFiles.sort()
sorted(csvFiles)

#Setup first data frame with the merge Date Time for all files
for files in csvFiles:
    df = pd.read_csv(files)
    df = df.drop(columns=['Date Time', ...])  #List of all the columns in the file except for Date Time(RAW) [not shown in the drop command to the right but its one of the many columns in the monitoring data and found in all metric types].  This is used to start the dataframe and the following for loop is to add the data to this one.

#merge all files on columns we only want to use matching on Date Time
for files in csvFiles:
    df_next = pd.read_csv(files)
    df_next = df_next.drop(columns=['Date Time', ...)  #same as above except I don't remove the columns I want to keep.

#Create a new header using the server name
df_cols = ['data_time', ...] #A list of all columns headers where I manually add the server name to the metric (ex. server1_diskIO).  So for 10 files, saving the 3 columns for each file would produce 30 headers +1 for the Date Time(RAW)
df.columns = df_cols