Python Forum
New to Python, philosophical question
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
New to Python, philosophical question
Good morning everyone,

I'm relatively new to Python but have been doing some object oriented programming for a while but mainly business intelligence efforts in SQL, Power BI, data warehousing and data modelling. So typical corporate BI. My organization wants to start using Python for analytics. I understand Python is becoming a very desired skill set and I'm fast track learning it and really do like it. However I'm struggling with not Python and its uses but why the organization would really want to use Python for analytics when we are already using Power BI. We have an infrastructure already in place with a newly constructed data lake (literally a week old) and a standing ETL and data warehouse model that is working and working well. I could see if we wanted to start using predictive analytics and creating forecasting models but we aren't. So now naturally one could reasonably say "well, ask your manager." We're both stumped because he's asked the same question. Anyone care to send me back to school on this? Besides cost, what would the advantages of Python Panda be over a tool such as Power BI?
Warning: I am not really familiar with Power BI, so I may be misunderestimating it.

One reason would be versatility. There are probably certain analyses and visualizations that you can do in Python but you can't do in Power BI. This may allow you to fine tune things to your particular business, which is not something Microsoft does well in my experience. Also, my experience with SAS vs. R is that new tools often hit the free tool first. A given tool is often developed in the free tool because one person wants it and they develop it. The commercial tool is going to require multiple people to want it before they develop it.