Python Forum
Attribute Error for Rename / Replace
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Attribute Error for Rename / Replace
Hello Everyone -

I'm very new to python and I have a use case where I need to rename .zip files and then extract. I think I have the extraction part down (it is commented out for the time being) but I am having trouble with the rename portion. My directory has files that look like this: 20191210.092030_Monthly_Service_Cost_12-10-2019-02-17

Ultimately, I would like my zip file to look like MonthlyServiceCost.zip ... Feedback would be greatly appreciated!

import os, zipfile

#Parameters 

dir_name = 'C:\\Users\\m88576\\Desktop\\UnzipDirectory' # Defines target directory
extension = ".zip" #Defines target extension (zip)
os.chdir(dir_name) # change working dir to target directory

#Rename Zip Files

file_list = os.listdir(dir_name) #creates variable
print(file_list) #List all files in the directory before extract

file_list_rename = file_list.replace('.','').replace('1', '').replace('2', '').replace('3', '').replace('4', '').replace('5', '').replace('6', '').replace('7', '').replace('8', '').replace('9', '').replace('0', '').replace('_', '').replace('-','')
os.rename(file_list, file_list_rename)

#os.rename(file_list, file_list.strip('123456789_'))#removes numerical and non-string characters

#Unzip Files

#for item in os.listdir(dir_name): # loop through items in dir
   # if item.endswith(extension): # check for ".zip" extension
     #   file_name = os.path.abspath(item) # get full path of files
     #   zip_ref = zipfile.ZipFile(file_name) # create zipfile object
     #   zip_ref.extractall(dir_name) # extract file to dir
     #   zip_ref.close() # close file
     #   os.remove(file_name) # delete zipped file

print(file_list) #List all files in the directory after extract
Error: