Python Forum
[Tkinter] How can I simplify this code?
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
[Tkinter] How can I simplify this code?
I'm trying to write a simple bit of code with tkinter to enable me to switch on and off all the gpio pins with checkbuttons. I've got a basic example working but I'm sure there is a way of simplifying it rather than creating one checkbox at a time! I'm a beginner and don't really understand classes, I had a go and created all the checkboxes with a loop but I couldn't get the tick boxes to work. Here's my code so far, can anyone show me how to do it more efficiently? It's only got 3 gpios to save on space but I'm sure you'll get the gist of it!
from tkinter import *
import RPi.GPIO as GPIO

GPIO.setmode(GPIO.BCM)
GPIO.setwarnings(False)
for x in range(0, 27):
    GPIO.setup(x, GPIO.OUT)

#GPIOPins=["GP14", "GP15", "GP18"]

root = Tk()

#Give window title 
root.title("GPIO Control")

#Set up window geometry
root.geometry('200x650')

#Set up first label
label1 = Label(root, text="Select pin")
label1.grid(column=0, row=0)

def activatePin14():
    if var14.get() == 1:
        GPIO.output(14, TRUE)
    elif var14.get() == 0:
        GPIO.output(14, FALSE)

def activatePin15():
    if var15.get() == 1:
        GPIO.output(15, TRUE)
    elif var15.get() == 0:
        GPIO.output(15, FALSE)

def activatePin18():
    if var18.get() == 1:
        GPIO.output(18, TRUE)
    elif var18.get() == 0:
        GPIO.output(18, FALSE)        

var14 = IntVar()
Checkbutton(root, text="Pin 14" ,  command=activatePin14, variable=var14).grid(row=1, sticky=W)
var15 = IntVar()
Checkbutton(root, text="Pin 15" ,  command=activatePin15, variable=var15).grid(row=2, sticky=W)
var18 = IntVar()
Checkbutton(root, text="Pin 18" ,  command=activatePin18, variable=var18).grid(row=3, sticky=W)

Button(root, text="QUIT", command=root.destroy).grid(column=0, row=4)

root.mainloop()

Many thanks.