Python Forum
Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 2 Average
Temperature value code
Hi! I am new to python and I only know Arduino. I am building a laptop overheating detector and I somehow need to transfer temperature values from the sensors installed in my laptop to a Arduino board via a serial port. I figured out I can use PySerial. But I don't know how to get those temperature values. Can someone write a code for me please. I would be really thankful. Thank You
Hello,
as you have stated, before sending values to arduino you need to get temperature values. So you should know where they are stored and how they are accessed.
Although we have a forum member who seems to like writing code for users, I wouldn't expect someone will do that for you. Except perhaps pseudo code/algorithm outline, if that is fine for you.
But you can get great help with more specific (Python) questions here.
Very OS dependent... in Linux they are readibly available by reading the adequate pseudo-file:
>>> with open('/sys/class/hwmon/hwmon0/temp1_input') as t:
...     print 'Temps is %3.2f°C' % (float(t.read())/1000.)
Temps is 43.00°C
Likely more complicated on Windows.
Unless noted otherwise, code in my posts should be understood as "coding suggestions", and its use may require more neurones than the two necessary for Ctrl-C/Ctrl-V.
Your one-stop place for all your GIMP needs: gimp-forum.net
See pyspectator. I came across this two weeks ago. Didn't manage to see the temp here. Perhaps I have to turn on acpi
"As they say in Mexico 'dosvidaniya'. That makes two vidaniyas."
https://freedns.afraid.org
pyspectator look okay,did't work for temp reading on my laptop with Windows.

Here what i done before for Windows,this get all info by using Open Hardware Monitor.
Call call it trough wmi module like this.
import wmi

w = wmi.WMI(namespace="root\OpenHardwareMonitor")
temperature_infos = w.Sensor()
#print(temperature_infos)
for sensor in temperature_infos:
    #print(sensor)