Python Forum
Input() function not working in VS Code
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Input() function not working in VS Code
#1
I am new to programming -- just doing simple hand-on and input function is not working in VS Code (Anaconda). just tried same thing in Juptyr notebook and it responds as expected.
1st Code with issues
replicating part of code:
import sys
print ("enter your name ")
x= input ()
print ("hello  ", x)
## This is asking for input and printing correct result in Jupyter notebook--
while same is giving no results in VS code - below is the snippet I get in output terminal after I execute these statement:
Output:
enter your name >>> x= input () print ("hello ", x)
## It is not asking me to enter the name##

2nd Code with issues
r = int (input ("enter a number"))
print (r*2)
giving correct output in Jupyter
while same is throwing error in VS Code:
r = int (input ("enter a number"))
print (r**2)
Error:
Error: Traceback (most recent call last): File "<stdin>", line 1, in <module> ValueError: invalid literal for int() with base 10: 'print (r**2)' >>>
Please support to resolve, TIA!
Reply
#2
(Feb-16-2020, 03:57 PM)darpInd Wrote: while same is giving no results in VS code - below is the snippet I get in output terminal after I execute these statement:
In setting search code-runner.runInTerminal set to True.
More tips here VS Code from start,i to do also mention this in tutorial.
Reply
#3
(Feb-16-2020, 04:36 PM)snippsat Wrote:
(Feb-16-2020, 03:57 PM)darpInd Wrote: while same is giving no results in VS code - below is the snippet I get in output terminal after I execute these statement:
In setting search code-runner.runInTerminal set to True.
More tips here VS Code from start,i to do also mention this in tutorial.

sorry couldn't find this code-runner.runInTerminal . I tried in File --> prefrences--> setting __> search.. but this flag code-runner.runInTerminal is not available
Reply
#4
(Feb-16-2020, 05:46 PM)darpInd Wrote: sorry couldn't find this code-runner.runInTerminal . I tried in File --> prefrences--> setting __> search.. but this flag code-runner.runInTerminal is not available
Yes i forget to mention that's a feature of Code Runner.
You should install it,also get a button for running code.
Also look a tutorial and set in code-runner.executorMap:
"python": "$pythonPath $fullFileName",
This make it always follow current Python interpreter,that's active down in left corner.
Reply
#5
(Feb-16-2020, 10:41 PM)snippsat Wrote:
(Feb-16-2020, 05:46 PM)darpInd Wrote: sorry couldn't find this code-runner.runInTerminal . I tried in File --> prefrences--> setting __> search.. but this flag code-runner.runInTerminal is not available
Yes i forget to mention that's a feature of Code Runner.
You should install it,also get a button for running code.
Also look a tutorial and set in code-runner.executorMap:
"python": "$pythonPath $fullFileName",
This make it always follow current Python interpreter,that's active down in left corner.

I have done as suggested

{
"files.autoSave": "afterDelay",
"python.dataScience.sendSelectionToInteractiveWindow": true,
"python.pythonPath": "C:\\ProgramData\\Anaconda3",
"code-runner.runInTerminal": true
}


after that-- just compiled below simple code and getting the below results again.. it is publishing 'none'.. while it has not asked any value from me

x = print("enter something")
print (x)
Error:
>>> x = print("enter something") enter something >>> print (x) None
See this -- providing error.. not sure what is happening.
x = int(print("enter some nmberu"))
print (x)
Error:
>>> x = int(print("enter some nmberu")) enter some nmberu Traceback (most recent call last): File "<stdin>", line 1, in <module> TypeError: int() argument must be a string, a bytes-like object or a number, not 'NoneType' >>> print (x) None
Reply
#6
print isn't used for reading input - it just prints the value and returns None. Why aren't you using input?!
Reply
#7
You need to use input() rather than print().

x = int(input("enter some nmberu"))
print (x)
Output:
enter some nmberu5 5
Reply
#8
(Feb-17-2020, 12:29 PM)darpInd Wrote: I have done as suggested
No you have not Wink
They change as was talking about was in code-runner.executorMap as in my tutorial.
Also between perl and php.
"php": "php",
"python": "$pythonPath $fullFileName",
"perl": "perl",
As mention now in last code use use print().
Your first code was:
r = int(input("enter a number: "))
print(r**2)
I can use Anaconda as demo as you use,the point now is that now if change Python interpreter,
all running of code will use that Python interpreter(down in left corner).

[Image: hwDKtM.png]
So now running code as a script an can type input in Terminal,
In interact interpreter it will be like this(enter after each line).
λ ptpython
>>> r = int(input("enter a number: "))
enter a number: 55
>>> r**2
3025
I use ptpython,but you can use eg IPython or JupyterLab which is the Browser version with a lot of features.
You just have to find a setup that work for you,as all of this can be confusing in the start.
Reply


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  code isnt working. nezercat33 1 579 Mar-14-2025, 03:45 AM
Last Post: deanhystad
  Simple code not working properly tmv 2 461 Feb-28-2025, 09:27 PM
Last Post: deanhystad
  I'm new to Python - can someone help with this code as it is not working? lminc123 1 479 Feb-13-2025, 06:13 PM
Last Post: lminc123
  my code is not working erTurko 1 626 Nov-11-2024, 08:43 AM
Last Post: buran
  Input function oldschool 1 668 Sep-14-2024, 01:02 PM
Last Post: deanhystad
  Excel isnt working properly after python function is started IchNar 2 1,210 May-01-2024, 06:43 PM
Last Post: IchNar
  difference between forms of input a list to function akbarza 6 2,293 Feb-21-2024, 08:02 PM
Last Post: bterwijn
Question in this code, I input Key_word, it can not find although all data was exact Help me! duchien04x4 3 1,905 Aug-31-2023, 05:36 PM
Last Post: deanhystad
Shocked kindly support with this dropna function not working gheevarpaulosejobs 2 1,675 Jul-24-2023, 03:41 PM
Last Post: deanhystad
  New to Python - Not sure why this code isn't working - Any help appreciated TheGreatNinx 4 2,257 Jul-22-2023, 10:21 PM
Last Post: Pedroski55

Forum Jump:

User Panel Messages

Announcements
Announcement #1 8/1/2020
Announcement #2 8/2/2020
Announcement #3 8/6/2020