Python Forum
Calculate area of a circle
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Calculate area of a circle
Hello everybody, I'm a beginner in python, I just started today with it, and I created the following file in Linux :

cat fonction.py
#!/usr/bin/python
from math import*
def aire(rayon):
    A=pi*rayon**2
    return(A)
Nothing happened when I ran from the terminal the following commands : python fonction.py

What is missing ? And how to make it work by launching python fonction.py

The goal is to calculate the area of a circle

Thank you
All you've done is define the function. You need to call it somewhere, supplying a value for the parameter rayon. You'll probably also want to print the value that the function returns...
note that star imports like from math import * are generally discouraged
If you can't explain it to a six year old, you don't understand it yourself, Albert Einstein
How to Ask Questions The Smart Way: link and another link
Create MCV example
Debug small programs

(Mar-21-2020, 04:08 PM)ndc85430 Wrote: All you've done is define the function. You need to call it somewhere, supplying a value for the parameter rayon. You'll probably also want to print the value that the function returns...

Hello, thank you, like this ?

#!/usr/bin/python
from math import *
def aire(rayon):
A=pi*rayon**2
rayon=5
return(A)
print(A)

I still have nothing when I run python fonction.py

(Mar-21-2020, 04:11 PM)buran Wrote: note that star imports like from math import * are generally discouraged

Hello, thank you, how do we know by what should we replace the star ? Is there a list somewhere ?
Personally, I would prefer not using functions unless needed
So, instead of using the function, you can ask the user for the radius or put a radius
Then calculate it using the formula
pyzyx3qwerty
"The greatest glory in living lies not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall." - Nelson Mandela
Need help on the forum? Visit help @ python forum