Python Forum
Simple TCP Client and TCP Server Problem
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Simple TCP Client and TCP Server Problem
OK, I may be being particularly thick with this question but I am new with python and I am trying to follow a PDF book on coding with it, we have reached the point where he has had me create a simple TCP Server (named: tcp_server.py)
import socket
import threading

bind_ip = "0.0.0.0"
bind_port = 9999

server = socket.socket(socket.AF_INET, socket.SOCK_STREAM)

server.bind((bind_ip,bind_port))

server.listen(5)

print ("[*] Listening on %s:%d" % (bind_ip,bind_port))

#this is our client handling thread
def handle_client(client_socket):

#print out what the client sends
    request = client_socket.recv(1024)

print ("[*] Received: %s" % request)

# send back a packet
    client_socket.send("ACK!")

client_socket.close()

while True:

client,addr = server.accept()

print ("[*] Accepted connection from: %s:%d" % (addr[0],addr[1]))

#spin up our clirnt thread to handle incoming data
    client_handler = threading.Thread(target=handle_client,args=(client,))
    client_handler.start()
and a simple TCP Client (named: tcp_client.py)
import socket

target_host = "www.google.com"
target_port = 80

# create a socket object
client = socket.socket(socket.AF_INET, socket.SOCK_STREAM)

# connect the client
client.connect((target_host,target_port))

# send some data
client.send('GET / HTTP/1.1\r\nHost: google.com\r\n\r\n')

# receive some data
response = client.recv(4096)

print (response)
in the book he says if I pass the client to the server as an argument then I should get responses like this

Quote:[*] Listening on 0.0.0.0:9999
[*] Accepted connection from: 127.0.0.1:62512
[*] Received: ABCDEF

I have tried passing the filename to many places in the server code but all I ever end up with is
Quote:[*] Listening on 0.0.0.0:9999