Python Forum
How do you work with procedurally generated data?
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
How do you work with procedurally generated data?
I want to write a script that generates a list of (X,Y) coordinates to be passed into CAD software in order to automate some extremely repetitive geometry-related tasks. I am learning python on my own as my first OOP language. I have no formal background in engineering or computer programming. I used to be pretty good with BASIC back in the MSDOS days, but I've never worked with any of the modern languages. I'm doing ok so far, but I have run into an issue where I need to generate some objects, the number of which is defined by the user. I need a hierarchical data structure in which data can be individually recalled later by a naming convention that can be programmed - an array of sorts. My first instinct was to have variables created in a FOR loop that would generate sequential names, such as var1, var2, etc. but upon my research it seems that this practice is not only frowned upon, but also requires some hacky low-level coding like using vars(), which can be problematic in some situations.

Here is an example of what I am trying to do:
The user is asked to input height, width, and qty of rectangles (boxes). The script generates (X,Y) coordinates for a row of equally sized and equally spaced boxes. Later in the code, I want to be able to refer to specific boxes for further processing. The way it is written currently, if I need to refer to a specific point I can do something like print(Box1.A.X) to get the X coordinate of the bottom left corner of the first rectangle. I need to be able to reference the data at all levels of the hierarchy. In other words I need to be able to call an individual box as a list of(A,B,C,D), individual point as a list of (X,Y), or an individual X or Y as an integer.

This is how I have gone about it so far: