Python Forum
Assignment of non-existing class variable is accepted - Why?
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Assignment of non-existing class variable is accepted - Why?
Hi, I am a newbie. My understanding is that I cannot assign to a non-existing class variable, but the python interpreter (3.8.3) allows this to occur. Why does the following code work without complaint? See the comment for the statement I would think should cause an error. TIA.

class My_object:
    class_var1 = 123

def main():
    my_obj = My_object()
    print(my_obj.class_var1)
    my_obj.foobar = 101   #foobar is not a My_object variable
    print(my_obj.foobar)

main()
The line
my_obj.foobar = 101
has created a new instance attribute foobar and assigned it the value of 101
(Jul-12-2020, 03:55 PM)Yoriz Wrote: The line
my_obj.foobar = 101
has created a new instance attribute foobar and assigned it the value of 101

My question should have been expanded a little more...Why is this allowed? Is it a commonly used feature in python programming? I am starting to get a grasp on the subject of object data encapsulation and as I understand it for python this is self-imposed via leading underscores in variable names and using data access methods. As a newbie, it seems to me that allowing "on-the-fly" creation of class variables is an encapsulation violation - no? Why would I ever want to do this? Any and all answers appreciated.
You're correct. In python it is generally expected that you can create attributes of classes and instances after instantiation.

There are some ways to prevent that for in individual class (like overriding __setattr__ or __slots__), but using them in that way is not simple. Using them improperly can break other bits in subtle ways. Python isn't Java or C++, and attribute creation outside of __init__ is considered normal. Yes, this can cause some problems, but it also gives benefits allowing users the flexibility to do things the author had not anticipated.