Python Forum
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Python classes
Dear python users,

As a python newbie I started two months ago learning a bit of coding. By learning some topics of Python some questions came to my mind and I would like to ask here I someone could help me with this case(s). Now I am kind of assuming what the solution would be but I prefer doing it in the correct way avoiding frustrations in the future Big Grin .

The query:
Inside class objects, should I use the SELF argument only in the __init__ def?

For example:
class CountFromBy:

def __init__(self, v: int=0, i: int=1):
        self.val = v
        self.incr = i

def increase(self):
        self.val += self.incr

def __repr__(self) -> str:
        return str(self.val)
And what is the function of "v" and "i" in the __init__ object? Should it be better to used the same initials as "val" behind the self argument?

Hopefully the query description is understandable, please let me know if additional information is needed.

Like to hear!
Python_User Wrote:Inside class objects, should I use the SELF argument only in the __init__ def?
Normally, you need to use the self argument in every method definition except when they are class methods or static methods (defined with the @classmethod and @staticmethod decorators). The self argument represents the object instance when the method is called. Actually, you could use another word than 'self' for this argument, but 'self' is traditional and that's what other python programmers expect.