Python Forum
Problem with my If, Elif, and Else code.
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Problem with my If, Elif, and Else code.
Hey what's up. I have a problem with a question of mine.

I wrote these codes to program how many seconds are there since midnight. I'll type in what I have codded below. And I try to run the code, it is z little sloppy but still I thought it could work. When I run the program I type in my Hours, Minutes, and Seconds. Then I listed t and t2 as the equation for the inputs. I stated on the variable a == ether 'am' or 'pm'. and typing in the t for am and t2 for pm. When I do that all it does is copies am or pm that I typed. I am new to programming and I need some explanation on why this isn't the right.

print('Hello, this is a program to calculate seconds since midnight.')

print('What is the Hour now')
h=(input(int))

print('What is the Minute now')
m=(input(int))

print('What is the Second now')
s=(input(int))

t = ((3600 * h) + (m * 60 + s))

t2 = ((3600 * h) + (m * 60 + s) * 2)

a = print((input('Is it am or pm')))
if a == 'am':
    print('Your answer is, ', t, 'seconds since midnight')
elif a =='pm':
    print('Your answer is, ', t2, 'seconds since midnight')
else:
    "You have typed in the wrong inputs, try again."
The result of the print() at line 16 is not what you think. A call to print() returns the None value.
(Sep-02-2020, 05:26 PM)Gribouillis Wrote: The result of the print() at line 16 is not what you think. A call to print() returns the None value.

I see, So I deleted the print() from line 16, but now when I type in my numbers for the time I get 1's repeating. Is there something wrong with t and t2? and how do I fix that. Here is the code and I'll give you the details I used to start the program.

print('Hello, this is a program to calculate seconds since midnight.')

print('What is the Hour now')
h=(input(int))

print('What is the Minute now')
m=(input(int))

print('What is the Second now')
s=(input(int))