Python Forum
Master's/PHD for Data Science Job
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Master's/PHD for Data Science Job
Hey everyone,

I recently spoke to a friend of the family who is a lead developer(45). I told him I am really interested in data science. He looks up at me and says:

well, you better get a master's degree then. Everyone I work with in data science has a master's and some even a PhD.(he has a master's degree)

I'm a first year CS student and have a long way to go, but I'm already thinking ahead Think . I want to jump right in after my 3rd year. Is it really necessary to have a master's degree to get a good, well paid data science job? And is it an advantage when it comes to getting promoted? I know a lot of programmers out there don't even have a uni degree, but are still great programmers and get good jobs( not sure if in data science though.?).
Is it all about your skills or is the "paper" still very relevant? Especially in the data science scene with all the experienced competition out there?

All the best. Oli
I think a masters degree is good to have.
You will get the better jobs if you have one, but it's also possible to land a good job with a bachelor's.
In many cases, a masters will land the job before a PHD will.
But if you are planning to work for the Government, or academia then PHD is the way to go.

I should also add that experience is a huge plus.
(Sep-26-2020, 11:47 AM)oli_action Wrote: I know a lot of programmers out there don't even have a uni degree, but are still great programmers and get good jobs