Python Forum
Next steps for using API data
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Next steps for using API data
I'm very new to Python, and as a starter project I'm trying to use it to request data using an API which I then want to store in a csv file.

So far I have a working script that makes the API calls and stores the relevant data in a list. I'm a bit stuck as to where to go next to get this data into csv.

Each item in my list is a dictionary with some nested lists/dictionaries within. So I think I need to flatten the data before I can save to csv?

From the googling I've done so far, I think I may need to start looking at pandas - is this the right road to go down?

If anyone can suggest any useful resources/next steps I'd really appreciate it.
Why do you want to write the data to a CSV? If it has structure other than rows and columns there are better ways to represent that. Is some other application going to use the data? If so, the format is most likely set by the consuming application.
(Oct-09-2020, 01:20 PM)deanhystad Wrote: Why do you want to write the data to a CSV? If it has structure other than rows and columns there are better ways to represent that. Is some other application going to use the data? If so, the format is most likely set by the consuming application.

My ultimate goal is to import the data into a sql database, so I'm using csv as an intermediary step.
(Oct-09-2020, 03:36 PM)Rebster Wrote: My ultimate goal is to import the data into a sql database, so I'm using csv as an intermediary step.
why don't you write directly in the database?
If you can't explain it to a six year old, you don't understand it yourself, Albert Einstein
How to Ask Questions The Smart Way: link and another link
Create MCV example
Debug small programs

i had the same thought.  python can go directly to a many databases, skipping the CSV step, completely.
Tradition is peer pressure from dead people