Python Forum
Access Network SMB Share on a NAS
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Access Network SMB Share on a NAS
Hi there,
total NOOB here.Trying to learn some Pyhton starting from "basic" automation tasks.
What I'd like to do is telling a podcast app to update and d\l new episodes and move them to a NAS share folder. The first step is complete. What I'm having a hard time with is accessing my WD MyCloud server. I'm using Python3 on a raspberry PI 4. I've tried the following code with success to access two other shares. One is an Ubuntu machine and the other a debian antix based machine.
I can't access the NAS no way. This is the code
from smb.SMBConnection import SMBConnection

host: str = "192.160.0.8"  # ip or domain name
username = ""
password = ""
conn: SMBConnection=SMBConnection(username,password,"","",use_ntlm_v2 = False)
result = conn.connect(host, 445)

localFile=open("/home/delta/Storage/file","rb")
conn.storeFile("System4", "testfile", localFile)
localFile.close()
IF i try that code to access the NAS server I've been given the
smb.smb_structs.ProtocolError: Server does not support any of the pysmb dialects. Please email pysmb to add in support for your OS
error.
After long googleing I see the pysmb only supports SMB1\2 while my WD NAS Server should run the SMB3 version. I don't know whether that's the issue, nonetheless I've tried to use smbprotocol or smbclient, but, after installing the modules, I get a <no module named smbclient or smbprotocol> when running the script.

Hope to find some help here guys..
Do you need to have your program handle the SMB interface?

It might be simpler to do an SMB mount on the pi (mount it to a filesystem), and then just access the files as local in your python program.
(Oct-30-2020, 08:53 PM)bowlofred Wrote: Do you need to have your program handle the SMB interface?

It might be simpler to do an SMB mount on the pi (mount it to a filesystem), and then just access the files as local in your python program.