Python Forum
Code taking too much time to process
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Code taking too much time to process
Hi team,

I am a Newbie using python, i was trying to interpretate several columns from an excel file using openpyxl, and generate (write) on a file (XML), the code is working, but is taking too much time (around 20 mins Wall Wall Wall Wall Wall Sad Undecided ). The code basically reads an excel file, selects a tab, reads the information by using for and while loops.

My decisions are being done using a lot of If/elif with a lot of "ORs" conditions, Is there any other way to make the processing faster / more efficient? Confused

if (ParameterName == 'a1MeashoEnabled'or ParameterName == 'a5MeasEnabled' or ParameterName == 'a3MeasEnabled' or ParameterName == 'a2MeasRedirectEnabled' or ParameterName == 'a2MeashoEnabled') and ParameterValue is not None:
ParameterValue = str(ParameterValue)
if ParameterValue.isdigit() is True:
if int(ParameterValue)==0:
ParameterValue = 'none'
elif int(ParameterValue)==1:
ParameterValue ='rsrp'
elif int(ParameterValue)==2:
ParameterValue ='rsrq'
elif int(ParameterValue)==3:
ParameterValue ='rsrpAndRsrq'
elif int(ParameterValue)==4:
ParameterValue ='rsrpCombined'
elif int(ParameterValue)==5:
ParameterValue ='rsrqCombined'
else:
pass
else:
pass
It would be better to see all the code; I doubt the comparisons are themselves are causing the problem.
(Nov-05-2020, 06:30 PM)ndc85430 Wrote: It would be better to see all the code; I doubt the comparisons are themselves are causing the problem.

Hi ndc, the code is very large, this is the reason i try to explain using the criteria that i did for pake the "parser"